Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Cobb County School District

Board of Education Newsletter

CobbCast Icon   CobbCast News Blog
Twitter Icon   @CobbSchools on Twitter
Facebook Icon   Cobb Schools on Facebook

From left, Brad Wheeler, Vice-Chairman-Post 7, David Banks-Post 5, David Chastain-Post 4, Scott Sweeney-Post 6, Superintendent Chris Ragsdale, Susan Thayer-Post 2, David Morgan-Post 3, Randy Scamihorn, Chairman-Post 1.

Ragsdale Unanimously Approved by Board as Superintendent

Chris Ragsdale was unanimously voted Superintendent of Cobb County Schools, the second largest public school system in Georgia serving more than 111,000 students and the 24th largest in the United States.

Mr. Ragsdale was named to the post at the February 11, 2015 Work Session of the District's Board of Education. He told the Board he is "very excited to continue on the job," and that "it is humbling working in the greatest district in the state, in the country." He credited his Executive Cabinet members with "taking the district forward," and that he is "thankful for the work that Cobb teachers do to ensure student success."

Named Interim Superintendent on May 1, 2014, Mr. Ragsdale has more than two decades of experience in school operations and information technology in both the public and private sectors, and has also served the District as Deputy Superintendent for Operations, and Chief Technology Officer.

BOTTOM: Front row: Dr. Angie Bacon, Chief Technology Officer, Mary Elizabeth Davis, Chief Academic Officer, Supt. Ragsdale, Dr. Angela Huff, Chief of Staff, Denise Larosa, Executive Secretary; Back row: Brad Johnson, Chief Financial Officer, Dr. Greg Ewing, Chief Accountability & Research Officer, John Adams, Chief Operations Officer & Chief Human Resources Officer, Dr. Grant Rivera, Chief Leadership & Learning Officer.

(Photos courtesy of Kelly Huff, Marietta Daily Journal)

Comprehensive Local Education Agency Improvement Plan Meeting Scheduled for March 24, 2015

You are invited to attend the Comprehensive Local Education Agency Improvement Plan Meeting on Tuesday, March 24, 2015 at 6:30 PM in the Floyd MS Auditorium. The CCSD Office of Community Engagement & Title I is seeking input from teachers, principals, parents and the community.

Click for more information on Community Engagement & Title I.

From left, Steve Crowley from Piedmont Church, Cobb County Schools Superintendent Chris Ragsdale, Area 4 Assistant Superintendent James Carter, Post 3 Board of Education Member David Chastain, Ike Reighard, Senior Pastor from Piedmont Church and Associate Pastor from Piedmont Church, Marlon Longacre.

Piedmont Church Donates $12,000 to Cobb Schools

On February 5th, Piedmont Church presented the Cobb County School District with a check for $12,000 to be used by local schools for scholarships. The money was collected during a two-day fundraising event in December, called "Christmas at Piedmont", held at Piedmont Church. More than 10,000 people attended, raising thousands of dollars to support 19 schools within the Cobb County School District. 

Sixteen Cobb High Schools Named 2015 Georgia Advanced Placement Honor Schools

All 16 Cobb County high schools were named Georgia Advanced Placement (AP®) Honor Schools by the state Department of Education. The program recognizes Georgia schools that have increased access to rigorous AP coursework, based on the results of 2014 AP classes and exams.

The 2015 AP Honor Schools are named in five categories, based on the results of 2014 AP courses and exams. New this year is the AP Humanities category, in which schools have students tested in all of the following AP courses: at least one ELA course, two social science courses, one fine arts course and one world language course. AP Humanities Schools are those with students who test in at least 1 ELA course, 2 social science courses, 1 fine arts course and 1 world language course.

Cobb Schools qualifying in this new category are Allatoona, Campbell, Harrison, Kell, Kennesaw Mountain, Lassiter, McEachern, North Cobb, Pebblebrook, Pope, Sprayberry, Walton and Wheeler.

Two categories honor schools encouraging participation in AP Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) coursework. Allatoona, Campbell, Harrison, Hillgrove, Kell, Kennesaw Mountain, Lassiter, McEachern, North Cobb, Osborne, Pebblebrook, Pope, South Cobb, Sprayberry, Walton and Wheeler were named AP STEM Schools for having students testing in at least two AP math courses and two AP science courses (AP Calculus AB, AP Statistics, AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Environmental Science, AP Physics B, AP Physics C, AP Computer Science).

Allatoona, Kell, Harrison, Hillgrove, Kell, Kennesaw Mountain, Lassiter, North Cobb, Pope, Sprayberry, Walton and Wheeler were also named to the AP STEM Achievement Schools list for also having at least 40 percent of the exam scores on AP math and AP science exams earning scores of three (3) or higher.

AP Merit Schools had at least 20 percent of the student population taking AP exams and at least half of all AP exams earning scores of three (3) or higher; Harrison, Hillgrove, Kennesaw Mountain, Lassiter, North Cobb, Pope, Sprayberry and Walton high schools met the criteria for the AP Merit Schools category.

Campbell, North Cobb and McEachern were recognized as AP Access and Support Schools for having least 30 percent of their AP exams taken by students who identified themselves as African-American and/or Hispanic and 30 percent of all AP exams earning scores of 3 or higher.

In all, 609 Advanced Placement (AP) Honor Schools were named by State School Superintendent Richard Woods. The Georgia Department of Education began recognizing AP Honor Schools in 2008.

Click for more information on our Advanced Learning Programs.

Cobb County Board of Education
Randy Scamihorn, Chair - Brad Wheeler, Vice-Chair
Susan Thayer - David Morgan - David Chastain - David Banks - Scott Sweeney
Superintendent, Chris Ragsdale

This email was sent to you from the Cobb County School District.
If you are receiving this through iContact, and you would like to change your email or unsubscribe, please click 'Manage Your Subscription' below.