Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Cobb County School District
Board of Education Newsletter


Early Kindergarten Now Underway at Belmont Hills Elementary

“Our focus is on academic preparedness,” said Superintendent Chris Ragsdale. “Our job is to make sure we move students from kindergarten through first grade. We are making sure the students who are coming to Early Kindergarten are getting access to early learning. We have a goal to have students reading on grade level by third grade. This is another tool we are  using to obtain that goal.”  Read more

Great Year in Cobb County High School Sports with State and Regional Wins

When Pope High School recently clinched the state Class 6 AAAAAA baseball championship, the win capped a great year in Cobb County High School sports. The Cobb County School District won Georgia High School Sports (GHSA) state titles in girls basketball (McEachern), girls soccer (Harrison), boys lacrosse (Lassiter), girls volleyball in 6A and 7A (Harrison and Walton), girls cross country (Harrison), girls tennis (Walton), girls swimming (Walton), and One Act Play (Kennesaw Mountain). In addition, individual state titles went to athletes in swimming, and girls and boys track. Read more

Shallowford Falls Elementary School Awarded AdvancED STEM Certification

Mabry Middle School Earns AdvancED STEM Certification

CCSD Students Win Emperor Science Awards

Cobb Graduates Snag Nearly $94 Million in Scholarship Offers

The Cobb County School District class of 2017 generated more than $93.7 million in college scholarship offers, so far.

This figure does not include the HOPE Scholarship awards which will be available later this summer. The scholarship awards for academic scholars and athletic stand-outs came from all 16 of the District’s high schools and the Cobb Performance Learning Center.

Totals for scholarship offers at CCSD schools:
Allatoona $1,708,740
Campbell $3,683,844
Harrison $6,472,768
Hillgrove $7,958,553
Kell $1,344,966
Kennesaw Mtn $10,633,510
Lassiter $9,783,386
McEachern $8,000,000
North Cobb $2,384,620
Osborne $2,228,568
Pebblebrook $5,200,000
PLC $2,000
Pope $6,465,690
South Cobb $2,349,535
Sprayberry $1,181,110
Walton $20,300,000
Wheeler $4,018,529
Total $93,715,819

Board Resources

Meet the Board
Watch Meetings Online
Board Calendar
Board Agenda Items
Board Appointments
CCSD Strategic Plan
2016 Legislative Priorities
Policies & Rules

CobbCast Icon CobbCast News Blog

Twitter Icon @CobbSchools on Twitter

Facebook Icon Cobb Schools on Facebook

Cobb County Board of Education
David Chastain, Chair - Scott Sweeney, Vice-Chair
David Banks - David Morgan - Randy Scamihorn - Susan Thayer - Brad Wheeler
Superintendent, Chris Ragsdale

This email was sent to you from the Cobb County School District.