E-mail not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

The purpose of this e-mail newsletter is to help keep the District's stakeholders informed of
education-related issues. The Board of Education appreciates your support of excellence in education.

Despite Dip,
Cobb SAT Scores Remain Ahead of Georgia, Nation

Cobb County’s senior class of 2010 continued to outperform their state and national peers on the SAT test for college readiness, despite a decrease of 11 points in the average score. This year’s graduating class had an overall average score of 1523 (Reading, Math, Writing), besting the state average by 70 points and the national average by 14 points.

Seven of Cobb’s 14 high schools had combined totals higher than the national average of 1509 and six showed improvements over 2009 scores. Wheeler High School posted the biggest gain with an average of 1655, a 15-point increase from last year and an 81-point improvement over 2008 scores. Other schools showing increases from 2009 include Hillgrove (10), Kell (12), Kennesaw Mountain (2), North Cobb (4), and Pebblebrook (6).

Individual school scores area available on the District Web site.

Board Approves Restoration of Two Furlough Days,
Step Increase

The Board approved a modification to the current Fiscal Year 2011 budget that will restore two furlough days and 1/2-year salary step increases for all eligible District employees. The District will receive an estimated $20.8 million in funding from the Education Jobs Fund, a Federal program designed to save or create education jobs during this school year. The funds will be distributed to the District in September and October, freeing up local funds. Superintendent Fred Sanderson recommended use of $11.4m to restore cuts made for the FY2011 budget and to carry forward the balance of $9.4m to the FY2010 budget.

State Superintendent Among Most Important Races in November

Georgia's superintendent of schools is among the many important positions that will be determined during elections on November 2. This office has great influence on the direction of public education in Georgia.

The Board of Education encourages the Cobb community to be informed about candidates and about the issues facing Georgia's public schools.

International Welcome Center Moving

The District's International Welcome Center is relocating to a new, central location at the Oakwood Digital Academy, 1560 Joyner Avenue, Marietta. The IWC, which provides support for Cobb's international students, previously operated from space at East Cobb and Lindley middle schools. See the IWC Web page for more information.

Board Seeks Public Input To
Assist With Superintendent Search

Online Survey Available Through October 1

The Cobb County Board of Education invites the public to take part in an online survey that will help the Board identify an ideal candidate to serve as the District’s next superintendent. The survey, available on the Cobb County School District Web site at www.cobbk12.org, offers stakeholders the opportunity to gauge the District’s strengths and weaknesses, identify possible goals for a new superintendent, and to specify leadership qualities most important for a candidate to embody. The superintendent search survey will be open for participation through Friday, Oct. 1, 2010.

The superintendent search survey, along with a wealth of other information about the Cobb County School District, is available on the District Web site at www.cobbk12.org.

Six SPLOST III Turf Fields Open

Three more new, SPLOST III-funded artificial turf fields opened for use in early September. Football teams and physical education classes at Campbell, Osborne and Pope high schools hit the fields earlier this month, with Pebblebrook's field scheduled for completion in the coming weeks.

Wheeler, Kell, Sprayberry, Harrison, and Lassiter are scheduled for turf installation following completion of fall athletics and activities. The final phase is scheduled for summer 2011 and will include North Cobb, Allatoona, Hillgrove, and McEachern high schools.

View aerial photos of the new fields on the CobbCast news blog.

53 Cobb Seniors Named Semifinalits For National Merit Scholarship

Fifty-three students from nine Cobb high schools are among the 16,000 semifinalists for the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program! These seniors now have an opportunity to compete for the 8,400 National Merit Scholarships that will be offered in Spring 2011.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Read the full list of Cobb's National Merit Scholarship semifinalists on the CobbCast news blog.

Classified Employees of the Year
Honored During Annual Luncheon

The 2010 Classified Employee of the Year awards were named during the District's annual celebratory luncheon Sept. 14. The awards honor three school professionals at each academic level, as well as a support professional from one of the District’s operational divisions, that have made significant contributions to his or her school. This year's honorees are winners are Deborah Buckley of Shallowford Falls Elementary, David Hugg of McClure Middle, Sandra Collins of Harrison High and Tony Conner of Food & Nutrition Services.

The good news story of SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) continues for Cobb County taxpayers. The following agenda items approved by the Board of Education are SPLOST-related and/or involve the use of SPLOST funds. In September 2010, the School Board:

• Approved/did not approve award of contract for an addition and building modifications at Pine Mountain Middle School to Hensler and Beavers General Contractors of Doraville, GA. The cost of $6,164,666 is less than 50 percent of the total SPLOST III Project Budget of $13,344,028.

• Approved/did not approve the SPLOST III Program Plan to address a projected shortfall in sales tax revenue affecting the program. See the agenda item for additional details.

These projects were part of the SPLOST III program approved by Cobb County voters in 2008. To view the agenda items for the projects, please click here. To view the proposal for the SPLOST III referendum approved Sept. 16, 2008, please click here.

Cobb County Board of EducationLynnda Crowder-Eagle, Chairman Holli Cash, Vice Chairman
Dr. John Crooks David Morgan Dr. John Abraham • David Banks • Alison Bartlett

This e-mail was sent to you because you requested updates from the Cobb County School District.
If you would like to change your e-mail or unsubscribe, please click 'Manage Your Subscription' below.