Athletics Information

 Steve Jones, Director (.49)

Steve Jones
Director (.49)

 William Griggers, Director (.49)

William Griggers
Director (.49)

Pamela Orvino
P: 678-331-1071
F: 678-331-1052

CCSD Athletic News

2017-18 State Champions

Sport Level Boys Girls School
Volleyball AAAAAAA x Walton
Volleyball AAAAAA   x Harrison
XC AAAAAA x   Adrian Hernandez - Allatoona - 16:26.4
One Act Play AAAAAAA     BEST ACTOR:  Carson Colenbaugh - KMHS
Swimming AAAAAA   x Pope
Swimming-400 yd freestyle relay AAAAAA   x Pope-Sarah Sorenson, Julia Kieth, Anna Prestel, Mady Bragg 3:27.22
Swimming-100 freestyle AAAAAA   x Pope-Sarah Sorenson 50.85
Swimming-200 freestyle relay AAAAAA   x Walton-Jasmin Hoffmann, Abby Belinski, Jami Williams, Melissa Cox 1:35.49
Swimming-100 Butterfly AAAAAA   x Kennesaw Mountain-Addie Rose Bullock 54.50
Swimming-50 freestyle AAAAAAA x   Hillgrove-Brady Fields20.70
Swimming-100 freestyle AAAAAAA x   Sprayberry-Ananda Lin 45.02
Swimming - 200 freestyle AAAAAA   x Pope - Mady Bragg  1:51.03
Swimming - 100 butterfly AAAAAA   x Pope - Mady Bragg  55.89
Swimming - 50 freestyle AAAAAAA   x Walton - Jasmin Hoffman 23.61
Swimming - Dive AAAAAAA   x Walton - Mackenna Buchanan 444.65
Wrestling - Traditional AAAAAAA x   Caleb Powell (138 lbs)
Wrestling - Traditional AAAAAAA x   Ricardo Atkinson (220 lbs)
Wrestling - Traditional AAAAAA x   Pope - Max Druhot (113 lbs)
Wrestling - Traditional AAAAAA x   Allatoona - Will Formato (145 lbs)
Literary - Boys Quartet AAAAAAA x   Hillgrove - Matthew Elsey, Ethan Pound, Miller Sinyard, Henrique Sobrinho
Literary - Oral Interpretation-Dramatic AAAAAAA     KMHS -Ayana Arrington
Literary - Oral Interpretation-Humorous AAAAAAA     KMHS - Nick Haddad
Literary - Extemporaneous Speaking-International  AAAAAAA     KMHS - Meredith Jones
Literary - Extemporaneous Speaking-Domestic AAAAAAA     KMHS - Olivia Seabaugh
Literary - Overall AAAAAAA     KMHS
Track (Boys 100 m) AAAAA x   Kell - Ebony Jackson 10.57
Track (Boys 100 m) AAAAAA x   Allatoona - Jacob Smith 10.60
Track (Boys 100 m) AAAAAAA x   Wheeler - Javaughn Moore 10.40
Track (Boys 200 m) AAAAA x   Kell - Ebony Jackson 21.49
Track (Boys 200 m) AAAAAA x   Allatoona - Jacob Smith 21.13
Track (Boys 4x400 m relay) AAAAAA x   Allatoona - Jacob Smith, Alexander Windham, Jalen Loughry, Blake Klepper - 3:18.66
Track (Boys high jump) AAAAAAA x   North Cobb - Rashan Alkins
Track (Boys overall) AAAAAA x   Allatoona 68 points
Track (Girls 3200 m) AAAAAA   x Harrison - Kira Stanley 11:38.26
Track (Girls pole vault) AAAAAA   x Allatoona - Courtney Long 12-00.00
Track (Girls triple jump) AAAAAA   x Pope - Denise Issah 39-08.25
Track (Girls triple jump) AAAAAAA   x McEachern - Victoria Agyin 40-06.00
Track (Girls high jump) AAAAAAA   x Walton - Elasia Campbell 5-06.00
Track (Girls long jump) AAAAAAA   x Hillgrove - MyCheri Onwuzuruike 18-11.00
Track (Girls 100 m hurdles) AAAAAAA   x Walton - Tia Jones 13.30
Track (Girls 300 m hurdles) AAAAAAA   x McEachern - Nilaja Florence 42.53
Tennis - Girls AAAAAAA   x Walton
Baseball AAAAAA x   Pope
GADA Director's Cup AAAAAAA   x Walton
GADA Director's Cup AAAAAA x   Allatoona

2017-18 Athletic Director of the Year

Josh Mathews - Pope High School

Congratulations to Josh Mathews from Pope High School for being named Cobb County School District Athletic Director of the Year for 2017-18.  Josh is pictured below with Steve Jones, Director of Athletics for Cobb County School District.

Online Athletic Registration

The 2019 (2018-19 school year) Online Athletic Registration is now open. 


Positive Athlete Program

Cobb County is participating in the Positive Athlete Program which recognizes athletes for being a positive influence. Please take a moment to visit their website and nominate a positive athlete you know!  There is a link at the bottom of the page for nominations.

What Is Positive Athlete Georgia?

Positive Athlete Georgia is a movement by high-character professional athletes tied to Georgia professional and collegiate sports teams to promote the benefits of “positivity” to young athletes. These athletes believe it is crucial to begin shaping the futures of young athletes for life skills beyond athletic competition and to learn how to give back to their community. Current and former professional athletes are members of this organization, and high school athletes will be invited to join based on being nominated by a coach, school administrator, parent or fan for the annual Georgia Positive High School Athlete Awards.

Other Important Links
"NCAA Clearinghouse Online Information about initial-eligibility at NCAA Division I and II member colleges and universities..."
"The GHSA is a voluntary organization composed of 385 public and private high schools. It strives to promote good sportsmanship and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. It endeavors to maintain high standards so that each pupil competing in each school is on the same basis. In the field of athletics its interest is the safety of the participants; it is on this principle that its athletic rules are based."
"The mission of the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) is to serve its members and its related professional groups by providing leadership and national coordination for the administration of interscholastic activities which will enhance the educational experiences of high school students and reduce risks of their participation."

GHSA Forms can be found at:

Retiree LIFETIME Athletic Pass

Cobb County Schools would like to offer retirees of the Cobb County School District the opportunity to receive a LIFETIME Athletic Pass as a thank you for your many dedicated years to the students of Cobb County.

This Athletic Pass will admit you to any high school athletic event sponsored by a Cobb County school and held within the county; however, it will not be honored at region and state playoffs as they do not honor individual county passes.

To receive a Retiree LIFETIME Athletic Pass, please call Pamela Orvino at 678-331-1071 or email her at with your request and your address. These passes will be mailed, upon request, at the beginning of the next school year.

Bottom Menu