Empowering Dreams for the Future

CCSD News and Announcements
For Immediate Release
For more information contact:
February 3, 2011
Jay Dillon (770) 426-3345

Lassiter High School Named 2010 Georgia School of Excellence

Lassiter High School is one of just 22 schools in Georgia to be named a 2010 School of Excellence by the state Department of Education. Lassiter was selected for the honor by being among the state’s top 10 percent of schools as measured by assessments in reading and mathematics. The school will receive a $1,000 award check from program sponsor Georgia Natural Gas and will be presented with the prestigious School of Excellence logo flag.

Lassiter principal Dr. Chris Richie said, "When I first heard the news that Lassiter had been named a 2010 Georgia School of Excellence, I can't tell you what a tremendous sense of accomplishment that I felt for our faculty, students, and community. This is a well-deserved recognition and validation that what our teachers do for students on a daily basis is truly remarkable."

The Georgia Schools of Excellence program identifies two winning schools from each congressional district in Georgia: one for the top 10 percent criteria, and another for having greatest gains in reading and math over a five-year period. In order to be considered for the award, a school must also make Adequate Yearly Progress for a minimum of three consecutive years, meet or exceed state mean scores in Science and Social Studies, offer a minimum of two Advanced Placement (AP) courses and not be considered a ‘Persistently Dangerous School’ under federal No Child Left Behind standards.

Cobb County schools have received 51 Georgia School of Excellence awards since the program’s inception in 1984, including 16 in the past four years. Details about the Georgia Schools of Excellence program, including selection criteria, is available from the Department of Education’s web site at www.gadoe.org.