Empowering Dreams for the Future

CCSD News and Announcements
For Immediate Release
For more information contact:
November 16, 2011
Jay Dillon (770) 426-3345

District Releases Draft Map For South County Redistricting
Public Forum For All Affected Schools December 7th

The Cobb County School District has released a new draft map for the pending south county elementary school redistricting. The new map incorporates community input received following the release of two redistricting options in October, and consolidates the two options into a single draft map. District planners have tried to incorporate community preferences wherever feasible. At this time, no final decisions have been made and public input on the single draft map is welcome. The District will host a final forum Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2011 at 6:30 p.m. at South Cobb High School. Parents, students and staff from all affected elementary schools are invited to attend.

A bold black line on the new draft map indicates the two areas and phases of implementation; schools on the west side of the line will be part of the Phase 1 implementation effective in August 2012, including Austell Primary, Austell Intermediate, Birney, Bryant, Clarkdale, Clay, Hollydale, Mableton, Milford, Riverside Primary, Riverside Intermediate, Russell, Sanders and Sky View. Schools on the east side of the line will be part of the Phase 2 implementation, effective in August 2013 when the new Smyrna elementary school opens its doors. Phase 2 schools include Argyle, Belmont Hills, Brown, the Fitzhugh Lee Center of H.A.V.E.N. Academy, Green Acres, Harmony Leland, King Springs, LaBelle, Milford, Nickajack, Norton Park and Teasley.

The District is accepting public comment on the draft map via the December 7 public forum, the 'Public Comment Wall' on the redistricting section of the website, and via email at redistricting@cobbk12.org. Following a review of community input from the last forum, a final proposed redistricting map will be developed and presented to the Board of Education for a vote in February 2012.

Click here to view the Maps and Data