Empowering Dreams for the Future

CCSD News and Announcements
For Immediate Release
For more information contact:
December 13, 2011
Jay Dillon (770) 426-3345

Hillgrove, Sprayberry High Schools Named
2011 Georgia Schools of Excellence

Hillgrove High School and Sprayberry High School are among 26 schools to be named 2011 Georgia Schools of Excellence by the state Department of Education. Both Cobb County high schools earned the honor by showing the greatest continuous gains in student achievement over the past three years, based on reading and mathematics performance on the Georgia High School Graduation Test. Each will receive the iconic School of Excellence flag and a $1,000 award check from program sponsor Georgia Natural Gas.

Cobb Superintendent Dr. Michael Hinojosa said, "Having not just one, but two Cobb County high schools recognized for making academic gains is outstanding! The School of Excellence awards reflect three years of hard work and sharp focus on student achievement by the teachers and administrators at Hillgrove and Sprayberry. We are very proud of these schools for earning this prestigious honor."

The Georgia Schools of Excellence program identifies two winning schools from each congressional district in Georgia: one for the greatest gains criteria, and another for schools in the state's top 10 percent (also based on state testing results). To be considered for the award, a school must also make Adequate Yearly Progress for a minimum of three consecutive years, meet or exceed state mean scores in Science and Social Studies, offer a minimum of two Advanced Placement (AP) courses and not be considered a 'Persistently Dangerous School' under federal standards.

Cobb County schools have received 53 Georgia School of Excellence awards since the program's inception in 1984, including 18 in the past five years. For a complete list of past Schools of Excellence in the Cobb County School District, visit the 'Awards and Honors' section of the District website.