Empowering Dreams for the Future

Student Assessment - Testing Information

Superintendent  >  Academics  >  Teaching & Learning  > 

For data information, visit CCSD Comprehensive Accountability Data

General Test Information

Students in kindergarten are assessed throughout the school year on GKIDS, the Georgia Kindergarten Inventory of Developing Skills. GKIDS is an ongoing, performance based assessment, designed to assist teachers in planning instruction throughout the school year, and to serve as one measure of a student’s readiness for first grade. It provides ongoing diagnostic information about kindergarten students’ developing skills in four academic areas; English Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies, and in three non-Academic domains: Personal/Social Development, Approaches to Learning, and Motor Skills. Individual Student Reports will be provided at the end of the school year, and will include English Language Arts, Math, Approaches to Learning, and Personal/Social Development.
GKIDS State Brochure

Students are assessed in the fall on the Iowa Assessments (Iowa). This is a norm-referenced assessment that measures student achievement in comparison to other students nationwide. Students in grades 3, 5, and 7 are tested in Reading, Mathematics, Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies.
Fall 2014 Iowa Parent Brochure

Students in grades 1, 3, and 7 are assessed in the fall on the Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT). This test measures student performance on abilities related to success in school subjects.

Georgia Milestones
The Georgia Milestones Assessment System is a comprehensive assessment program spanning grades 3 through high school.  It is designed to provide information about how well students are mastering the state-adopted content standards in the core content areas of language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.

Students in grade 3 through 8 will take an end-of-grade (EOG) assessment in the content areas of languages arts, mathematics, science and social studies in April.

High school students will take an end-of-course (EOC) assessment for each of the eight courses designated by the State Board of Education:

  • Ninth Grade Literature and Composition
  • American Literature and Composition
  • Coordinate Algebra
  • Analytic Geometry
  • Physical Science
  • Biology
  • United States History
  • Economics/Business/Free Enterprise

Middle school students who are enrolled in one or more of these courses will also take the end-of-course assessment.  The end-of-course assessments are administered at the completion of the course, regardless of the grade level.  Beginning with the 2015-2016 school year, these assessments will serve as the final exam for the course and will count as 20% of the student's final grade.

Features of the Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

  • open-ended (constructed-response) items in language arts and mathematics (all grades and courses)
  • a writing component (in response to passages read by students) at every grade level and course within the language arts assessment
  • norm-referenced items in all content areas and courses, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison; and

Students in eighth grade are tested in the fall on the ReadiStep assessment.  ReadiStep is published by College Board for middle school students to measure the skills students need to be on track for success in college and careers.  It consists of three multiple choice tests in the areas of Critical Reading, Mathematics and Writing Skills.

The Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT) is published by The College Board as a tenth or eleventh grade practice instrument for students before taking the SAT in eleventh or twelfth grade. All tenth grade students take the PSAT in the fall.

The Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT) and the American College Testing (ACT) are offered by The College Board several times during the year. These tests are not required by the state or school system, and are not administered by Cobb schools; however, most colleges and universities use SAT and/or ACT scores in determining student admission. Most college-bound students take one or both of these tests during either their junior or senior year. Both the SAT and ACT can be taken as many times as the student wants to.

Students who entered 9th grade prior to fall 2008 must pass the Georgia High School Graduation Tests (GHSGT) and the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT).

Students who entered 9th grade from fall 2008 through June 2011 must demonstrate their proficiency in the four GHSGT content areas by either passing each of the GHSGT content area tests or by passing one of the two equivalent End of Course Tests (EOCT) in each corresponding content area. These students are also required to take and pass the GHSWT.

Students who entered 9th grade in 2011-2012 and beyond will not take the GHSGT. They are required to take and pass the GHSWT.

Most students take the GHSWT during the fall of their junior year, and the GHSGT during the spring of their junior year. The GHSGT consists of tests in the areas of English/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. Several retest opportunities are available through the year for students who do not pass the GHSWT or one or more sections of the GHSGT.