One Team, One Goal: Student Success!

CCSD Superintendent

CCSD Home Page  > 

Chris Ragsdale
CCSD Superintendent

Denise LaRosa
Executive Secretary
P: 770-426-3453
F: 678-594-8559

Welcome to the Cobb County School District!

Our success as the 2nd largest school district in Georgia is evidenced through our students, and we help them maximize their learning potential through a firm commitment to hiring quality teachers, engaging our families, and partnering with our community.

In Cobb our students outpace their peers across the nation on standardized tests, many of our schools are state and national schools of excellence, and our graduation rate of 84% is one of the highest in country. We offer a variety of opportunities for students and you’ll find it all on our website. Thank you for visiting!

Executive Cabinet

John Adams
Deputy Superintendent
Human Resources  |  Operational Support
Dr. Angie Bacon
Chief Technology Officer
Technology Services
Mary Elizabeth Davis
Chief Academic Officer
Dr. Gregory Ewing
Chief Accountability & Research Officer
Accountability & Research
Dr. Angela Huff
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
Brad Johnson
Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Grant Rivera
Chief Leadership & Learning Officer
Leadership & Learning


Click here for a CCSD Organization Chart

Mr. Ragsdale's Bio

Chris Ragsdale is superintendent for the Cobb County School District, the second largest public school system in Georgia and 24th largest in the United States, with an enrollment exceeding 111,000 students. Mr. Ragsdale previously served the District as Deputy Superintendent for Operations from 2011-2014 and Chief Technology Officer from 2006-2014, managing plant operations, safety, transportation, maintenance, and overseeing technology integration. He has also been responsible for planning and execution of capital projects approved by Cobb voters and funded by the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST).

Mr. Ragsdale has more than two decades of experience in school operations and information technology in the public and private sectors, including roles as Chief Information Officer for nearby Paulding County Schools and in network and database management for Bellsouth (AT&T) and IBM.

Born at Kennestone Hospital in Cobb County, he holds a bachelor’s degree in Information Systems from Kennesaw State University and is currently pursuing a Master of Business Administration degree from Shorter University in Rome, GA.

Superintendent’s Principal Advisory Council

Debbie Broadnax - Powder Springs Elementary
Doug Doughtery - Norton Park Elementary
Jenny Douglas - Pickett's Mill Elementary
Bob Downs - Pope High
Thomas Farrell - McCall Elementary
Travis Joshua - Lindley 6th Grade Academy
Denise Magee - Campbell High
Kelly Metcalf - McClure Middle
Laura Montgomery - Hightower Trail Middle
Phillip Page - North Cobb High

Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Council

Roxanne Atrchin-Lopez – Argyle Elementary
Tida Bruce-Banfield – Mableton Elementary
Colleen Cauffield – Ford Elementary
Michael Chapple – Pebblebrook High
Katherine Conner – McEachern High
Eric Gray – Pope High
Richard Kaht – Dickerson Middle
Leah Kurtz – Kell High
Rashida Lee-Walker – Pitner Elementary
Rosemarie Meagh – Dodgen Middle
Ashley Morris – Lindley Middle
Thomas Panter – Durham Middle
Nancy Parsons – Davis Elementary
Kelly Paynter – Sprayberry High
Amanda Pittman – Osborne High
Allison Sanders – Barber Middle
Alexander Shannon – Tapp Middle
Richard White – Griffin Middle

Business and Community Advisory Committee

Mayor Tommy Allegood - City of Acworth
Dr. Trina Boteler - Chattahoochee Tech
Bill Brantley - Ed Voyles Automotive Group
David Connell - President, Cobb Chamber of Commerce
Johnny Whitaker - Lockheed Aeronautics
Jay Cunningham - Superior Plumbing Service
Kristy Flowers - FACE It Cobb
Rev. Lin Harrison - Orange Hill Baptist Church
Linda Hazelip - Chattahoochee Tech
Barbara Hickey - The Etiquette School of Atlanta
Don Johnson - State Farm Insurance Company
Judge Tain Kell - Cobb Superior Court
Tricia Knor
Dr. Ron Koger - Southern Polytechic State University
Rev. Marlon Longacre - Piedmont Church
John Loud - Loud Security
Kim Paris - Wellstar
Earl Reece - Earl Smith Strand Theatre
Scott Reed - Chick-fil-A
Ed Richardson - Floyd Foundation
Victor Sanchez
Ron Sumpter - Cobb EMC
Frank Wiginton - Frank Wiginton Landscape Service