Hightower Trail School Council

Hightower Trail joined other Cobb County Schools in implementing a school council beginning the 2003-04 school year.  The A+ Education Reform Act of 2000 (HB1187) required that all Georgia schools have a council by October 2003.

The council is defined as a local school advisory group, made up of the school principal, two parents/guardians, two certified staff members, and two business representatives.  Councils are intended to improve communication and to promote cooperation in support of student achievement and school improvement.  Each council may provide advice and recommendations on various issues to the principal and to the Cobb Board of Education.  These issues can include student achievement goals, curriculum and instruction, school and community communication and local school board policies. 

HB 1190 allows for more than 2 parents and 2 business partners to serve on the school council.  The minimum number of meetings is 4 per year.  Terms normally last 2 years but this bill allows for staggered terms so that all members do not rotate off at the same time. Parents may serve for two years and must have one or more children in our school during that entire time.  Parents who serve on the school council should have a broad interest in school concerns and are required to attend summer training as well as regular meetings.

Anyone is invited to attend the school council meetings or you may keep up with the meetings through this web site.

Minutes from Past Meetings:

April 16, 2014

March 19, 2014

January 15, 2014

September 11, 2013

March 1, 2013

January 25, 2013

November 30, 2012

October 26, 2012

September 28, 2012

April 13, 2012

March 19, 2012

February 13, 2012

January 23, 2012

December 19, 2011

November 14, 2011

October 17, 2011

September 19, 2011

2014 – 2015

 Chairperson: Paula Hunt

Vice Chairperson:

Secretary: Leslie Juhn 

PARENT VOLUNTEERS                                                               TERMS EXPIRE 

Adria Casey           adria.casey@yahoo.com                                       5/2016

Ann Duffy                 annlduffy@yahoo.com                                         5/2015

Leslie Juhn              juhnl2@yahoo.com                                                5/2015

Marian Proper      mlproper@bellsouth.net                                        5/2016 


Tara Riddle                cr@riddle-lawgroup.com                                   5/2016 

Shelia Shelton         sheila@staggandsheila.com                               5/2015 

TEACHER/ STAFF REPRESENTATIVES                                  TERMS EXPIRE 

Garrett Grashuis     william.grashuis@cobbk12.org                         5/2016

Teresa Mullaney     Teresa.Mullaney@cobbk12.org                         5/2015 


Laura Montgomery            laura.montgomery@cobbk12.org