CCSD News and Press Release Archive

Cobb Students Outperform the State in All Grades on the New Georgia Milestones

Cobb students performed better than the state on all eight of the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments in high school and on 24 of 24 End-of Grade (EOG) assessments in middle and elementary school. On average Cobb’s scale score was 15 points higher than the state for the EOC assessments. In middle and elementary school Cobb’s performance was particularly strong in English Language Arts. Cobb exceeded the state average scale score for English Language Arts by 17 points in Middle School and by 14 points in Elementary School.

Read more

Beginning with the 2014–2015 school year, the state implemented the new Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) to replace the End of Course Tests (EOCT) and Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT).  The standards on which the tests are based have not changed, but the assessments have changed.

What is the Georgia Milestones Assessment System?

The Georgia Milestones is a comprehensive summative assessment program for grades 3 through 12.  Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state content standards in language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  Students in grades 3 through 8 take an End-Of-Grade (EOG) assessment in each content area.  High school students take an End-Of-Course (EOC) assessment in eight courses.  Georgia Milestones includes the following types of test items:

  • open-ended (constructed-response) items in language arts and mathematics;
  • extended writing responses to passages read during the test in language arts;
  • norm-referenced items to provide a national comparison in all content areas; and
  • multiple-choice items in all content areas.

How do the Georgia Milestones differ from the old CRCT and EOCT Assessments?

Student results on the former CRCT and EOCT Assessments were divided into three performance levels.  On the Georgia Milestones, results are divided into four achievement levels.  Moreover, although the standards on which the new and old tests are the same, the Georgia Milestones assessments expect students to know those standards in greater depth.  For these reasons, fewer students statewide will perform at the highest level on these tests compared to the former CRCT and EOCT assessments.

How are the results of the Georgia Milestones scored?

Your student’s performance on the assessment is reported in one of four achievement levels:  (1) Beginning Learner, (2) Developing Learner, (3) Proficient Learner, or (4) Distinguished Learner.  Descriptions of each achievement level are given in the ISR.  Your student also received a scale score for each test.  Using the scale score, you can compare your student’s performance with the average student in the school, district, and state.  Your student’s performance in each subject is described in greater detail using domain categories for each subject area.

Where do I obtain more information about the Georgia Milestones?

The Georgia Department of Education has provided detailed information about the Milestones for each subject area on their web site. To access this information, visit


Milestone Testing Results


External Link:

Posted: 11/16/2015
End Date:

Bottom Menu