Principal Advisory Council


A council functions as an advisory body, offering input to the local school principal.

The District believes family and community engagement is critical to student and district success. The establishment of Principal Advisory Councils is intended to provide a means by which parents, community members, and school staff can work together to create a better understanding of and mutual respect for each other’s concerns and share ideas for school improvement. 

Council Membership

  1. Two staff members (one being the current Teacher of the Year);
  2. Two parents (one being the current PTSA president); 
  3. Two members of the community (one being a Partner in Education representative); 
  4. In the case of high schools, the president of the student government organization or senior class president.

2022-23 Principal Advisory Council Members

School:Parents and Community
Dr. Vanessa Watkins, Principal
Amanda Connell, Teacher of the Year 2022PTSA:  Marie Stockton

Parents: Rakale Quarells, April Moncrief, Yolanda Robinson, Fay Slaveikis, Heather Bacon, AB Wilson, Jack Bodner
Peyton Bedgood, Student/SGA PresidentCommunity: Jeff Pennington

Meeting Dates for 2022-23 will be posted soon.