2024 KSE TOTY and CEOTY!

Certified Employee of the Year Kathy Chen, KSE Principal Mize, and Teacher of the Year Emily Atkins

Congratulations to King Springs Elementary School's Teacher of the Year (TOTY), Emily Atkins, and Certified Employee of the Year (CEOTY), Kathy Chen!

In March 2024, KSE certified teachers and staff completed nomination forms for TOTY and CEOTY.  Nine teachers and four classified staff were nominated.  After one round of voting and a runoff, Emily Atkins and Kathy Chen were chosen as the winners!  The winners were announced on March 19th before the staff meeting.  Each winner was surprised by their family with bouquets of flowers.  Ms. Atkins and Ms. Chen will later join their district wide colleagues for celebrations in the Fall.

Emily Atkins was nominated by the current TOTY and Target teacher, Mary Park, "Ms. Atkins is an outstanding educator.  She is a 'teacher's teacher'!  She consistently goes above and beyond for our school, our community, and these children."

Ms. Atkins has been teaching for 18 years, with 13 of those years being at KSE.  Not only is she a 3rd grade teacher at KSE but she was also a student at KSE, "...love that I get to teach in the community that I grew up in."

Ms. Atkins can also be found co-sponsoring the Environmental Club and coordinating holiday activities for the Sunshine Committee.  

Kathy Chen was nominated by instructional paraprofessional and After School Program (ASP) co-director, Suzi Lawrence, "She is an exceptional individual whose unwavering dedication, tireless work ethic, and positive presence have significantly contributed to the success of our school".

Ms. Chen has held many positions within KSE and the Cobb County School District. She is currently a kindergarten paraprofessional and an ASP assistant instructor.  Ms. Chen's number one goal is always student success, "I strive to build community both with my colleagues and with students within both the classroom and school to foster a team atmosphere."

Emily Atkins and Kathy Chen are both outstanding educators.  KSE thanks you both for all you do for the students!