Principal Advisory Council

photo of conference room

A council functions as an advisory body, offering input to the local school principal.

The District believes family and community engagement is critical to student and district success. The establishment of Principal Advisory Councils is intended to provide a means by which parents, community members, and school staff can work together to create a better understanding of and mutual respect for each other’s concerns and share ideas for school improvement. 

In addition, since Sanders Elementary is a Title One school, our stakeholder committee planning team meets the requirement for this council. Please view our Title One links on our website to see our School Improvement Plan, goals, parent compact, etc.

Council Membership

  1. Two staff members (one being the current Teacher of the Year);
  2. Two parents (one being the current PTSA president); 
  3. Two members of the community (one being a Partner in Education representative); 
  4. In the case of high schools, the president of the student government organization or senior class president.

Principal Council Members 2023-2024

Tiffany Jackson- Principal

Michael Clayton- Assistant Principal

Kathleen Bender- Assistant Principal

Tyrone Austin - Teacher of the Year

Theda Jenkins, Classified Employee of the Year

April Brown, teacher

Linda Perryman (Community Partner- Floyd Road Baptist Church)

Sheri Mitchell, Community Member

Carrie Jones- Counselor

Dea Works- Parent Facilitator/Sanders Parent

Sabrena Dowe, Parent

The meeting dates are Nov. 1, Jan. 31, Mar. 20, and May 8.

                                                                                                             Photo by Benjamin Child on Unsplash