State School Superintendent Names 20 Cobb Seniors 2021 Georgia Scholars


State School Superintendent Richard Woods recently announced the names of the 2021 Georgia Scholars, which includes 20 students from Cobb Schools. In total, there were only 323 graduating seniors recognized as 2021 Georgia Scholars statewide.  

The Georgia Scholars from Cobb represent the following schools: Campbell High School, Harrison High School, Hillgrove High School, Kell High School,  Pope High School, Sprayberry High School, Walton High School, and Wheeler High School.  

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and the home. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for their diploma. 

These students have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; performed excellently in all courses; successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and their communities; and have assumed roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools. Click here for a full list of Georgia Scholar program requirements. Note that the SAT and ACT score requirement was waived this year, as some students could not take or retake these exams due to the pandemic.

“As a state, we can all draw inspiration from the resilience and determination of the class of 2021,” Superintendent Woods said. “Like their counterparts in the class of 2020, they dealt with the sudden shutdown of in-person schooling in March of last year. Then they persevered through a school year that was, of necessity, unlike any we have ever seen before – and still, they found a way to excel. I am extremely proud of each 2021 Georgia Scholar and can’t wait to see what this outstanding group of students accomplishes.” 

The Georgia Scholar program is managed by GaDOE’s Excellence Recognition Office and local coordinators in each public school system and private schools throughout the state.

2021 Georgia Scholars from Cobb Schools:

Campbell High SchoolAna Herndon
Harrison High SchoolZoey Weir
Hillgrove High SchoolErin Seagraves
Hillgrove High SchoolMekai Brown
Kell High SchoolMeghan Hamilton
Pope High SchoolMadison Winston
Sprayberry High SchoolAllison Mawn
Walton High SchoolAryn Wright
Walton High SchoolAjay Nathan
Walton High SchoolAden Cobb
Walton High SchoolLindsay Jenson
Walton High SchoolKaitlyn Talsky
Walton High SchoolSheena Lai
Wheeler High SchoolKaylyn Ferguson
Wheeler High SchoolOkezie Eze
Wheeler High SchoolCaroline Hugh
Wheeler High SchoolMatthew Norman
Wheeler High School
Aryaman Mukherji
Wheeler High School
Ishaan Chaubey
Wheeler High School
Anmol Prakash